Registering for a space
No need to pre-register or apply for space. Vendors may simply check-in and receive a space assignment the day of the event or the day before the event. That allows you to set up your merchandise displays and overnight on the market grounds if you check-in the day before. Merchandise displays may remain set up the entire weekend for multiple day events, as well. Be advised: Shady Hollow is not responsible for damage or loss of merchandise or other vendor belongings. Gates open at 6:00am on market day. You must register at the office to receive your space assignment. Be advised that reserved spaces have priority and the market has been known to sell out. In that case, unreserved vendors will queue on a first come, first served basis.
Reserving a Space
A reservation allows you to select and hold your space for any upcoming market day. Vendors with reservations can avoid that first come, first served risk and will be pre-registered to speed your check-in process on market day. The market layout shows the grounds and each numbered space. Reservations can be made by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org. Space can be reserved for any period for the upcoming summer season. Click here to view space availability. The reservation fee is a flat $5 per event.
Space Rental Rates
We can accommodate nearly any size set up. Flea market vendor's spaces are 25 frontal feet by 20 feet deep (500 sq ft). Anything over the minimums will be charged at the rate of $1 per foot. All vehicles, merchandise and displays must fit within the allotted space.
The fee for a single space is $20 on Saturday, $25 on Sunday and $40 for the entire weekend. Holidays are $30/day. The calendar shows the dates of the long weekends. A reserved space is an additional $5 flat fee per event and will be collected upon check-in. Payment can be made in cash or check.
Sales Tax Law
Sales of arts and crafts, except for most clothing, are subject to sales tax. This includes sales at craft shows, art fairs, flea markets and similar events, private homes, or nonprofit events such as church bazaars. If you make retail sales of taxable items in Minnesota, you must register to collect Minnesota sales tax.
To register for a Minnesota ID number by phone, call 651-282-5225. The Application for Business Registration, Form ABR, is available online or by mail at Minnesota Tax Forms, Mail Station 1421, St. Paul, MN 55146-1421. The state also publishes a complete facts sheet regarding sales tax requirements.